Impromptu

So usually I have very elaborate travel plans for my birthday which falls on August 19. I have often been able to take a week or more off from work and spend 3 or 4 nights away. I’ve traveled to the Ozarks, Colorado, Arizona, Nairobi, Oklahoma, Utah and New Mexico for my birthday in past years.

This year, I had planned to travel to Estes Park, CO for a few days which would have included Monday’s total eclipse. But I failed to make plans early enough (with good reason I think). This year has felt quite rough for me..with my early morning work schedule, severe insomnia, grieving my long time neighbor, and other life stuff.

By the time, I roused myself enough to make plans, a lot of places were already booked up due to Monday’s total solar eclipse.

So other than a day trip planned for overnight Friday that I just planned on a whim 3 days ago, I am letting my birthday just unfurl in whichever way or form it will. I have a 5 day weekend which will include Monday with none of my usual conrete plans!

This impromptu manner is not like me at all but I’m trying to embrace it. I think it will be good for me to just go with the flow for a change.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/unfurl/

2 thoughts on “Impromptu

Leave a Reply

