Self care matters: Enough! (aka Insomnia Diaries) Day 7

Yesterday evening after I finally gave myself permission to relax for the rest of the day, I decided to take a nice long hot bath, read a book while sipping on some wine. (Side note: Why is it we feel that we have to be super pruductive all the time??)

But first I needed to feed and inject the cat. Yes, you read that right. Inject the cat. She has feline early-onset diabetes. Wtf right? It was discovered at 9 months..a very long story deserving of it’s own blog

Injecting a tiny lion with sharp claws and teeth is a delicate procedure and requires trust on both parties..she’s a sweet cat really but one still needs to be careful when handling tiny lions, which it must be said, cats are! So I had started the bath before heading down. It takes me about 25 minutes to feed, inject and clean her litter. My bath was nice and ready by the time I was done.

I had put lavender bath crystals, lit my lavender vanilla candle and added some lavender scented Epsom salt I found at Dollar General. By the time I was done, my bath was filled and smelled wonderful. Epsom salts are really good for tense muscles. I soaked in the bath for about 25 minutes. Just soaking, no book, no wine, just quiet.  It felt good just to relax, feel the tenseness and aches go out of my body. I feel the effects today, less tension and less aches.

As I finished my soak and started getting ready for bed, I thought to myself, I MUST do this more often. Just taking time for self care. A long bath, some quiet time, some down time. Because self care does matter.

2 thoughts on “Self care matters: Enough! (aka Insomnia Diaries) Day 7

Leave a Reply

